Loading...
Geoscience 2018-05-02T09:06:33+00:00

Geoscience

« Geoscience is the scientific study of the planet Earth and its many different natural geologic systems.  It includes the study and investigation of Earth’s minerals, soil, water and energy resources: how Earth’s natural systems work today, how they operated in the recent and ancient past, and how we expect they may behave in the future. Geoscience is real-world science, relevant to us all, everyday. » www.geoscientistscanada.ca

Earth science aims to understand our planet’s many different systems, what it produces and reworks, and how humans are connected to its natural cycles and resources. Earth scientists are the people who do all of this and more!

earthsciencescanada.com
Geotechnics

Geotechnics

The geotechnical field is a mixture of science (geology, geo-mechanics) and engineering techniques whose aim is to guide designers and manufacturers to adequately start projects (anticipated settlement, subsidence, liquefaction) in their community and to better prepared for natural hazards (sliding, erosion, earthquakes).

Engineers apply the principles of geology and engineering to assess the acceptability of proposed sites for different types of use, such as road construction, transportation corridor, mine sites, bridges, etc. They use data, technical and geological principles to study rocks and surface deposits as well as surface water and groundwater. They study the geological factors and natural hazards that affect structures erected such as bridges, buildings, airports, roads and dams. The geological principles allow us to help locate and develop natural resources and study natural phenomena hazards such as landslides.

Geotechnical technicians assist engineers and geologists in their field of work. They maintain inventory of cores, collect and analyze samples of rock and sediment and do the daily drilling follow-up.

Geotechnical engineers focus on adapting constructions to soil and rocks in the natural terrain. No simple or complex work resting on the natural terrain can be designed or built in the absence of a survey and a geotechnical evaluation.

The degree of precision of geotechnical studies directly influence the optimization of the cost of foundations of structures and prevents a wide range of structural disorders during or after construction.

Geotechnical teams manage drilling crews; carry out tests of many kinds on-site and in our laboratories. It is therefore afield where technical and professional competence is based on instrumentation and specialized equipment.

Groupe ABS is constantly expanding its range of measuring instruments in order to offer our customers a wider range of services.

Groupe ABS is one of the few engineering firms in Quebec to have its own geotechnical drilling equipment which increases the competitiveness of our geotechnical team in the marketplace.

Geotechnical engineering is a field of practice somewhere between science and technology, where professional curiosity and personal development is a definite key to maintaining professional identity.

Groupe ABS encourages its geotechnical teams to become involved with academic societies (Canadian Geotechnical Society, Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum, Institute of Rock and Soil Mechanics, to name but a few) in order to keep up with the latest trends. We receive specialized literature and periodically attend technical conferences, enhancing knowledge and passion for the craft; two elements that make all the difference in geotechnical engineering.

Geotechnical services target a wide range of customers in all sectors :

  • Transport infrastructures (roads, bridges, airports, railways)
  • Municipal Infrastructures
  • Buildings (private, commercial or industrial)
  • Energy facilities (dykes, dams, transmission lines, wind turbines)
  • Telecommunications
  • Mining and natural resources
Sallomon O'Ngandée, ing., M.Sc.A.
Sallomon O'Ngandée, ing., M.Sc.A.
Rock mechanics

Geotechnical engineering is as old as humanity and is essential to prevent some damage or even serious accidents. The practice of this profession is a source of accomplishment and pride. Securing the works gives the geotechnical engineer the feeling of being useful to society

A survey conducted by the “Union Syndicale Géotechnique” (in France) over a span of 13 years and involving 530 cases of geotechnical disasters showed that in about 65% of the cases geotechnical engineering was stopped too early. The price paid for geotechnical negligence is high, especially since it is established that the full cost of geotechnical engineering typically represents less than 1% of a given project cost.

Environment

Environment

The professional practice involving the environment is now a field of activity with many varied job profiles :

  • The environmental geologist studies the interactions between humans and the environment. He finds solutions to problems related to pollution, waste management, urbanization and natural hazards;
  • The environmental engineer develops solutions to environmental problems such as air pollution, groundwater and wastewater disposal. He develops new approaches and new tools for the protection and conservation of the environment;
  • The hydrogeologist studies the existence, the flow and the quality of surface and ground waters. He is interested in the sustainability of groundwater and contamination. providing waste management consulting services, environmental impact assessments and site remediation;
  • The biologist studies living organisms in the context of environmental assessments, wildlife and plant inventories.

An important part of the current activity in environment is to detect and attempt to fix yesterday’s mistakes and carelessness: management of contaminated soils and waste, disposal or recovery of biogases.

Every day, human activity continues to be a source of significant pollution (waste such as used snow, toxic releases) from which environmental professionals help identify and mitigate as best as possible.

Evaluations and environmental site rehabilitation today affect all types of zoning (residential, commercial and industrial). The regulation covers both the protection of human health in the short term as well as the establishment of a framework for sustainable development. The control of this regulatory framework is at least as important as understanding the technical principles involved here.

Groupe ABS has a pool of specialists (engineers, geologists, biologists) with the best credentials which are inevitable in this particular field :

  • Certified Experts MDDELCC (Section IV.2.1 of the EQA)
  • Certified Environmental Assessor of Sites (CESA)

Environmental services pursue a wide range of clients from all areas :

  • Individuals, Small to mid size businesses
  • Developers and real estate developers
  • Municipalities and governments
  • Heavy industries (paper mill, petroleum industry, aerospace sector)
  • Banks and lawyers
Véronique Robitaille, biol., M.Sc.
Véronique Robitaille, biol., M.Sc.
Environment
Robert Marier, géo.
Robert Marier, géo.
Rehabilitation of contaminated soil

The protection of the environment, subject more than ever to increasing human activity, has become a major issue in the last 30 years. The ever growing complexity of environmental laws and regulations require more than ever the development of target expertise.

Robert Marier

Montreal, having been the industrial centre of Canada for almost a century, has at present nearly 1,500 contaminated sites believed to represent almost 30% of its territory. Participating in the redevelopment of this land is one of the many attractions of the trade.

Environment

Geophysics

Geophysics applied to civil engineering is a geoscience which mixes geology and wave physics to complement geotechnical and environmental studies. Geophysics enables knowing the site geology and measuring the physical properties of in situ soil and rock, in a non-destructive way.

The geophysical engineer in Quebec is normally a geological engineer specialized in geophysics. By mastering the physics of seismic, acoustic, and electromagnetic waves as well as electricity in different geomaterials, the geophysical expert is able to propose the best combination of geophysical methods for the site investigation. Geophysics can be extended to topographic, hydrographic and drone imagery surveys.

Geotechnical technicians assist engineers and geophysicists in their fieldwork. Their responsibility is to collect the best quality of geophysical data to facilitate interpretation.

There are three ways to know the geology of a site: surface observations, geophysical surveys or drilling. The site geology should be well-known before starting a major project. A geophysical survey beforehand can be used to depict the rock and thus optimize the subsequent drilling campaign. Drilling is necessary to calibrate and verify the results of geophysical surveys.

Geophysics uses surveying techniques (seismic, electrical and electromagnetic) from the surface or boreholes. Geophysics is an economic science that optimizes soil investigation in a non-destructive way. For example, in geotechnics, a seismic refraction survey can be used to interpolate and profile the rock between boreholes. In environmental studies, an electromagnetic survey (EM31 and ground penetrating radar) may reveal the presence of buried tanks or the extent of soil contamination.

Groupe ABS geophysics team is made up of specialized engineers and technicians. We have almost 10 years of experience in geophysics applied for major construction projects across the country and in Africa.

Geophysical services target a wide range of clients across all sectors :

  • Transport infrastructure (roads, bridges, airports, railways)
  • Buildings (private, commercial or industrial)
  • Power facilities (dikes, dams, transmission lines, wind turbines)
  • Telecommunications
  • Mines and natural resources
Nicolas Beaulieu, ing.
Nicolas Beaulieu, ing.
Geophysics

Geophysics is a powerful technology that will grow significantly in the coming years. Geophysics is in the same technological category as drones and artificial intelligence.

Nicolas Beaulieu

Geophysics can help to economically select the best place for the construction of a major structure.

Nicolas Beaulieu

Geophysics is not there to replace drilling but rather to optimize geological investigations. Geophysics combined with drilling helps to avoid claims and surprises that cause unnecessary delays.

Nicolas Beaulieu

Head office

7950, Vauban, Montréal (QC) H1J 2X5

Phone: 1.866.454.5644

Fax: 514.493.6228

Web: groupeabs.com

Loading...
Géoscience2018-04-16T07:59:51+00:00

Géoscience

« La géoscience est l’étude scientifique de la planète Terre et de ses nombreux systèmes géologiques naturels. La géoscience inclut l’étude et l’exploration des ressources que l’on retrouve sur la terre – les minéraux, le sol, l’eau et l’énergie. La géoscience, c’est apprendre à connaître comment les systèmes naturels de la Terre fonctionnent; comment ils se comportent aujourd’hui et comment ils se sont comportés dans le passé lointain; et aussi, comment on s’attend à ce qu’ils se comportent dans le futur. La géoscience c’est de la science palpable, dont on se sert tous d’une façon ou d’une autre chaque jour de notre vie. » www.geoscientistscanada.ca

Les sciences de la Terre veulent comprendre les nombreux systèmes de notre planète, ce qui en découlent, et aussi quels sont les liens unissant les humains à ses cycles naturels et à ses ressources. Les géoscientifiques sont ces gens qui s’intéressent à ces choses et à bien d’autres!

earthsciencescanada.com
Géotechnique

Géotechnique

La géotechnique se veut un mélange de sciences (géologie, géomécanique) et de techniques de l’ingénieur dont l’objectif est de guider concepteurs et constructeurs pour fonder adéquatement les ouvrages (tassements anticipés, affaissement, liquéfaction) dans leur milieu et pour mieux prendre en charge les risques naturels (glissement, érosion, tremblements de terre).

Les ingénieurs appliquent les principes de la géologie et du génie pour évaluer l’acceptabilité des sites envisagés pour différents types d’usage, tel que la construction de route, de corridor de transport, de sites miniers, de ponts, etc. Ils se servent des données, des techniques et des principes géologiques pour étudier les roches, les dépôts de surface ainsi que les eaux de surface et souterraines. Ils étudient les facteurs géologiques et les risques naturels qui affectent les structures érigées comme les ponts, les édifices, les aéroports, les routes et les barrages. Les principes géologiques permettent de contribuer à localiser et à mettre en valeur les ressources naturelles, et à étudier les phénomènes naturels à risques comme les glissements de terrain.

Les techniciens en géotechnique assistent les ingénieurs et les géologues dans leurs travaux sur le terrain. Ils archivent les carottes de forage, prélèvent et analysent des échantillons de roches et de sédiments, et font le suivi quotidien de forages.

Les géotechniciens s’attachent à adapter les ouvrages aux sols et roches formant le terrain naturel. Aucun ouvrage simple ou complexe reposant sur le terrain naturel ne peut être conçu ou érigé en l’absence d’une étude et d’un accompagnement géotechnique.

Le degré de précision des études géotechniques conditionne directement l’optimisation du coût des fondations des ouvrages et prévient un large éventail de désordres structuraux pendant ou après la construction.

Les équipes en géotechnique gère des équipes de forage, dépouille des essais de toutes sortes in situ et en laboratoire. Il s’agit donc d’un champ de pratique où la compétence technique et professionnelle s’appuie sur une instrumentation et des équipements spécialisés.

Groupe ABS élargit constamment sa gamme d’instruments de mesure, de manière à offrir à ses clients un éventail de services toujours plus large.

Groupe ABS est l’une des rares firmes d’ingénieurs au Québec à disposer de ses propres équipements de forages géotechniques, ce qui permet à nos équipes en géotechnique de gagner en compétitivité.

Étant un champ d’application à cheval entre la science et la technique, la géotechnique est un champ de pratique où la curiosité professionnelle et le perfectionnement personnel constitue une des clés pour maintenir son sens professionnel.

Groupe ABS encourage ses équipes de géotechnique à s’investir dans les sociétés savantes (Société canadienne de géotechnique, Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole, Institute of Rock and Soil Mechanics pour ne citer que celles-là) afin de rester à l’affût des nouvelles tendances. Ils reçoivent de la documentation spécialisée et participent périodiquement à des conférences techniques, ce qui renforce leur savoir et leur passion pour le métier, deux éléments qui font la différence en géotechnique.

Les services géotechniques ciblent une vaste gamme de clients, tous secteurs confondus :

  • Infrastructures de transports (routes, ponts, aéroports, voies ferrées)
  • Infrastructures municipales
  • Bâtiments (privés, commerciaux ou industriels)
  • Aménagements énergétiques (digues, barrages, lignes de transport, éoliennes)
  • Télécommunication
  • Mines et ressources naturelles
Sallomon O'Ngandée, ing., M.Sc.A.
Sallomon O'Ngandée, ing., M.Sc.A.
Mécanique des roches

La géotechnique est aussi vieille que l’humanité et est indispensable pour prévenir certains dommages, voire des accidents graves. La pratique de cette profession constitue une source d’accomplissement et de fierté. Sécuriser les ouvrages donne à l’ingénieur en géotechnique le sentiment d’être utile à la société.

Une enquête menée par l’Union Syndicale Géotechnique (en France) portant sur 13 ans et 530 cas de sinistres géotechniques, révèle que dans environ 65% des cas, l’ingénierie géotechnique a été arrêtée trop tôt. Le prix payé à la négligence en matière géotechnique est élevé, surtout qu’il est établi que le coût de l’ingénierie géotechnique complète représente habituellement moins de 1% du coût des projets.

Environnement

Environnement

La pratique professionnelle en environnement est aujourd’hui un champ d’activités où collaborent des profils de métier très variés :

  • Les géologues en environnement étudient les interactions entre les humains et l’environnement. Ils trouvent des solutions à des problèmes reliés à la pollution, la gestion de déchets, l’urbanisation et les risques naturels;
  • Les ingénieurs en environnement développent des solutions à des problèmes environnementaux, tels que la pollution de l’air ou des eaux souterraines, et l’évacuation des eaux usées. Ils développent de nouvelles approches et de nouveaux outils pour la protection et la conservation de l’environnement;
  • Les hydrogéologues étudient l’existence, l’écoulement et la qualité des eaux de surface et souterraines. Ils s’intéressent à la pérennité des eaux souterraines et à leur contamination; ils offrent des services de consultation en gestion des déchets, évaluation d’impact environnemental et à l’assainissement de site;
  • Les biologistes étudient les organismes vivants dans le cadre des évaluations environnementales et des inventaires fauniques et floristiques.

Une importante partie de l’activité actuelle en environnement consiste à détecter et à essayer de réparer les erreurs et insouciances d’hier : gestion de sols contaminés et de matières résiduelles, élimination ou valorisation de biogaz.

L’activité humaine au quotidien continue d’être la source d’une pollution non négligeable (neiges usées, rejets toxiques) que les professionnels en environnement aident à circonscrire et à atténuer de leur mieux.

Les évaluations et les réhabilitations environnementales de site touchent aujourd’hui tous les types de zonage (résidentiel, commercial et industriel). La réglementation vise autant la protection de la santé humaine à court terme que la mise en place d’un cadre de développement durable. La maîtrise de ce cadre réglementaire est au moins aussi importante que la compréhension des principes techniques en jeu.

Groupe ABS dispose d’un bassin de spécialistes (ingénieurs, géologues, biologistes) possédant les accréditations aujourd’hui incontournables dans ce champ de pratique :

  • Experts accrédités MDDELCC (section IV.2.1 de la LQE)
  • Évaluateurs environnementaux de site agréés (ÉESA) accrédités par l’AVQE

Les services environnementaux ciblent une vaste gamme de clients, tous secteurs confondus :

  • Particuliers, petites et moyennes entreprises
  • Développeurs et promoteurs immobiliers
  • Municipalités et gouvernements
  • Industries lourdes (papetières, pétrolières, aéronautique)
  • Banques et avocats
Véronique Robitaille, biol., M.Sc.
Véronique Robitaille, biol., M.Sc.
Environnement
Robert Marier, géo.
Robert Marier, géo.
Réhabilitation des sols contaminés

La protection de l’environnement, soumis à une activité humaine plus débordante que jamais, est devenue un enjeu majeur depuis les 30 dernières années. La complexification des lois et règlements environnementaux requiert plus que jamais le développement d’expertises ciblées.

Robert Marier

Montréal, ayant été le cœur industriel du Canada pendant près d’un siècle, compte à l’heure actuelle près de 1 500 terrains contaminés, ce qu’on estime représenter pas loin de 30% du territoire. Participer au redéveloppement de ces terrains constitue un des nombreux attraits du métier.

Environnement

Géophysique

La géophysique appliquée au génie civil est une géoscience qui se veut un mélange de géologie et de physique des ondes pour complémenter les études géotechniques et environnementales. La géophysique permet d’imager la géologie et de mesurer les propriétés physiques du sol et du roc in situ, et ce de façon non-destructive.

L’ingénieur en géophysique au Québec est normalement un ingénieur géologue spécialisé en géophysique. En maîtrisant la physique des ondes sismiques, acoustiques, électromagnétiques et l’électricité dans différents géomatériaux, l’expert en géophysique est en mesure de proposer la meilleure combinaison de méthodes géophysiques pour l’investigation d’un site. La géophysique peut être étendue aux levés topographiques, hydrographiques et d’imagerie par drones.

Les techniciens en géotechnique assistent les ingénieurs et les géophysiciens dans leurs travaux sur le terrain. Leur responsabilité est de recueillir la meilleure qualité de données géophysiques possibles afin de faciliter l’interprétation.

Il y a trois manières de connaître la géologie d’un site, soit par les observations de surface, les levés géophysiques ou les forages. La géologie devrait être parfaitement connue avant de débuter un projet d’envergure. Faire un levé géophysique au préalable peut permettre d’imager le roc et ainsi d’optimiser la campagne de forage subséquente. Les forages sont nécessaires pour calibrer et vérifier les résultats des levés géophysiques.

La géophysique utilise des techniques d’auscultation (sismiques, électriques et électromagnétiques) depuis la surface ou l’intérieur de forages. La géophysique est une science économique qui permet d’optimiser l’investigation des sols de manière non destructive. Par exemple, en géotechnique, un levé de sismique réfraction peut permettre d’interpoler et profiler le roc entre les forages. Lors d’études environnementales, un levé électromagnétique (EM31 et géoradar) peut révéler la présence de réservoirs enfouis ou l’étendue de la contamination dans le sol.

L’équipe de géophysique de Groupe ABS est formée d’ingénieurs et de techniciens spécialisés. Nous possédons presque 10 ans d’expérience en géophysique appliquée pour la construction de projets majeurs aux 4 coins du pays et en Afrique.

Les services géophysiques ciblent une vaste gamme de clients, tous secteurs confondus :

  • Infrastructures de transports (routes, ponts, aéroports, voies ferrées)
  • Bâtiments (privés, commerciaux ou industriels)
  • Aménagements énergétiques (digues, barrages, lignes de transport, éoliennes)
  • Télécommunication
  • Mines et ressources naturelles
Nicolas Beaulieu, ing.
Nicolas Beaulieu, ing.
Géophysique

La géophysique est une technologie puissante qui connaîtra une croissance importante dans les prochaines années. La géophysique est dans la même lignée technologique que les drones et l’intelligence artificielle.

Nicolas Beaulieu

La géophysique peut permettre de choisir économiquement le meilleur endroit pour la construction d’un ouvrage d’envergure.

Nicolas Beaulieu

La géophysique n’est pas là pour éliminer les forages mais plutôt pour optimiser les investigations géologiques. La géophysique combinée aux forages permet d’éviter les réclamations et d’éliminer les surprises qui causent les délais inutiles.

Nicolas Beaulieu

Siège social

7950, Vauban, Montréal (QC) H1J 2X5

Phone: 1.866.454.5644

Fax: 514.493.6228

Web: groupeabs.com